contact Me


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

Mirrors, Echoes (2004)

Mirrors, Echoes (2004) is a set of variations for orchestra in one movement. As in the music of Robert Schumann (Abegg Variations) and Johannes Brahms (Symphony #3), the variations are not based on a melody or bass line, but on only a few notes, in this case: RE, MI, FA, SOL. Virtually every note in the piece is mirrored in another register. The resulting doubled sonorities range from shimmering musical surfaces to rich, organ-like sounds. The mirroring also results in symmetries, canons and a host of musical palindromes. Characteristic of the work is the use of ìafter-imageî or echo; a sound may leave a trace of itself in shadow or another colour.
The orchestra used is large, but every wind, harp and percussion consort has a moment of focus, often with a solo for the principal of each section.

Mirrors, Echoes was commissioned by the National Youth Orchestra of Canada through the generosity of the Canada Council.